Gerald’s Interview

A lot of people tend to forget that their preacher is human. We tend to forget that our preacher has a past, a story to tell, and that they even had to find Jesus themselves. They don’t just immediately love God.

This is Gerald. He is an amazing preacher at Brown’s Bridge with some of the best sermons that I have ever heard and I hope you get the chance to listen to him talk about God someday!

Gerald

First, off I’m sorry I forgot to take your picture, Gerald. I was too socially awkward to go back up to and ask you for your picture, so here is the latest selfie without someone else in it.

P.s. Mane ‘n  Tail is freaking amazing, so you get bonus points for that!

Juggernaut: “So how did you first come to find Jesus?”

Gerald: “Well that’s a great question. Uh, I grew up in church… my mom took me to church every Sunday and I accepted Christ when I was like a Sophomore in high school. I didn’t quite know back then what that meant, but I did it, because I kinda felt obligated to do it and then after life got crazy for me and lost a few friends, um… a couple got murdered and one committed suicide, then I decided that I needed to find a different way to live and started going to Buckhead and it was around that time about four years ago that I really accepted Christ and understood what it meant.

First off… WOW. That is quite the story of how you found Christ. Finding a new way to live has done right by you, because you are helping people find Christ constantly.

Juggernaut: “Now how did you come to serve and become a pastor and stuff?”

The “and stuff” totally just proves how professional I am. I amaze myself sometimes. (That was total sarcasm.)

Gerald: “Yeah, great question! I started at InsideOut at North Point as a small group leader, uh one of my mentors was a coach. So, there’s like this weird role where theirs group directors who kinda help small group leaders and then there’s a guy who is underneath the group directors who are coaches and the kinda just serve as like a in between. They answer questions and stuff.

He started being a coach and said: “Hey you’re gonna be a small group leader.”

I was like: “No, not gonna do that.”

And He said: “Yeah, you are.”

Sassy coach.

Gerald: So, about a year later I ended up being a small group leader up at North Point and I was working with high school at the YMCA at the time, so it was just a natural fit.

Gerald: “I did that for about two and a half years and I was speaking at little retreats here and there at different churches and at FCA’s and stuff.”

I didn’t know what the FCA was, so I Googled it and if Google is correct it stands for The Fellowship Of Christian Athletes.

Gerald: “Then, spoke at North Point, and uh, three months later here I am, working at Brown’s Bridge.”

Juggernaut: “Do you have any advice for people who already Christian?”

Gerald: “Yeah, I think, uh one thing that is super important is just prayer. The way that I look at it is that when we pray and read our Bible that is a chance for God to speak in our lives through his word. When we pray that’s a chance to talk back to him. Some of the greatest moments that I’ve had have been in quiet time and haven’t even necessarily been  at church services, but times when I can just sit in my room with me and my Bible and God and I can have a conversation. So, if you’re a Christian already just spend some time with God, read your Bible, and pray.”

Juggernaut: “What advice do you have for people who don’t know how they feel about Christianity or don’t think that it is right for them?”

Gerald: “Honestly, just ask God to show Himself to you. You know, I don’t know one person who got to a point of saying “I don’t know for sure that this is real” and ask God to reveal Himself and he didn’t. I know that that’s a big step and a huge step for someone who doesn’t necessarily believe that there is a God and doesn’t know for sure that He exists, but the reality is that we all have moments of doubt and we all have questions. We all have times that we’re not sure and those times where our relationship with God comes into play. I think that anytime you can make yourself vulnerable enough to get to a place of saying “I don’t know if this is real, but if it is will you prove yourself?” I think God will show up in an amazing way and if He doesn’t then you just go on believing what you believe, but I 115% believe if you ask that question, then God will reveal Himself and show up.”

Juggernaut: “Yeah, I did that at one point and it was awesome!”

Juggernaut: “Now these are the questions I make sure I ask everyone.”

Juggernaut: “So, we already know your name, so how old are you?”

Gerald: “I’m twenty five.”

Juggernaut: “Now, you’re not in high school, so I’m not gonna ask you that, but when you were in school what was your favorite subject and teacher?”

Gerald: “Uhh, my favorite subject in school was lunch, honestly, but my favorite teacher was a lady named Mrs.George. She was one of the only teachers that really understood my life and stepped out of teaching you a subject and stepped into a hey what’s going on in your life kinda thing. My mom went to jail in my junior year of high school and if it weren’t for her I probably would have quit school.”

See, this is why teachers in public school need to be more considerate of their students. You never know how much you could be helping them!

Juggernaut: “Now for memories, what is your earliest memory?

Gerald: “Geez, my earliest memory… uhhh. I wish I could answer that question. I remember being born and looking up at the ceiling and thinking: “Oh, this is the world.” No, yeah I don’t really know.”

Juggernaut: “It’s okay, mine was a dream.”

It was a dream of scorpions rising out of the carpet and coming out of the walls. It was a scary dream for a toddler.

Juggernaut: “Now what is your favorite childhood memory?”

Gerald: “I don’t exactly remember what it was, but it was the first moment I picked up  a basket ball and I remember I was in third grade and there was a free throw shooter contest and I was like top three and my dad always wanted me to play soccer and I never wanted to do that.”

Juggernaut: “Now, what is the best memory that happened to you since you were a teen?”

Gerald: “That’s a great question. Honestly, my first job. I sat in the YMCA in the teen center and when I was a Freshman in high school. I started in the program, so I was like a student going through a leadership program and I went through it for four years and there was a guy who’s a good friend of mine now and mentor his name Wess and he sat in the exact same chair and so when I turned twenty two, I think, I got a job and I sat in that chair and it was the only time in my life that I’ve cried tears of joy. It’s easily the best moment and it’s lead to everything I’ve been able to do since.”

Juggernaut: “That’ pretty awesome! Now what are some of your favorite hobbies.”

Gerald: “Basket Ball, movies, and guitar. I love playing basket ball whenever I get a chance and I’m a big movie guy. I probably see two or three movies a week. I started learning guitar probably about a year and a half ago. I’m not super good at it, but it’s something that kinda takes my mind off things. I know my five major Christian chords, so as long as you can do that you’re good!”

I started learning guitar last month!

Juggernaut: “Now what is you’re dream job?”

Gerald: “This is my dream job, so this is it.”

Juggernaut: “Well, that crosses out the next question, because the next question was what were you’re plans to achieve that, so now we’re going into the speed round.”

Juggernaut: “What is your favorite color?”

Gerald: “Blue.”

Juggernaut: “Alright, cats or dogs?”

Gerald: “Dogs.”

Juggernaut: “What is your silliest pick up  line?”

Gerald: “Hmmm, I have so many good ones..”

Juggernaut: “I actually have one you mentioned before on stage about the book of numbers on my blog.”

Gerald: “Oh, now I can’t use that one, ummm, let me think of all the ones. Now, I’m blanking. Let’s come back to that question.”

Juggernaut: “What is your favorite internet meme?”

I like the insanity wolf meme.

Gerald: “I don’t know that I have one.”

Juggernaut: “Just whichever is funny at the time?”

Gerald: “Yeah.”

Juggernaut: “Now what is your favorite book?”

Gerald: “The Bible.”

All of you reading Fifty Shades of Grey need to read Gerald’s favorite book, because YA’LL NEED JESUS.

Juggernaut: “Now, what is your favorite movie?”

Gerald: “Remember the Titans. Best movie ever made.”

I can’t remember if I’ve seen this movie.

Juggernaut: “Now what is your favorite fictional character, where are they from, and why?”

Gerald: “Uuuhhhh, Tommy Pickles from Rugrats.”

Juggernaut: “Awesome, and why was he your favorite?”

Gerald: “Because he was a baby who could talk, that’s why, that’s all I got!”

Juggernaut: “Now these are the serious questions.”

Juggernaut: “What do you like best about yourself?”

Gerald: “I don’t know. That’s a really really good question. I don’t really know. I don’t really think about things that really great about me. Uhh, I try to think more about other people, but I guess I love the fact that God has given me the ability to speak. Like I love the fact that I can communicate with other people and I hear stories of other people getting it and understanding who Jesus is, because a voice that God has given me.

Juggernaut: “Yes, that’s great! Now, if you weren’t afraid of anything what in your life would change?”

Gerald: “I would probably have more friends who are Christian, because I would be able to have a conversation with people I’m afraid to have conversations with about Jesus.”

Juggernaut: “So, that’s the last question!”

Gerald: “So, I guess we’re back to this pick up line, umm I can’t believe I’m blanking right now! All of my small group boys would be so disappointed in me, because I’m like the king of these and I can’t think of anything. I did the book of numbers one and I can’t say did you fall from heaven, because that’s just corny. I guess if I walk around you seven times will you fall for me, but that’s all I can think of right now.”

Alright, this sums it up! I’m sure your small group boys are extremely proud of you, how far you’ve come, and how you helped save people all the time!

Thank you so much, Gerald for letting me interview you and post it on The Juggernaut Appeal!

Here is the website for Brown’s Bridge if you are interested in attending: http://brownsbridge.org/

If you want advice then email me at the

2 thoughts on “Gerald’s Interview

Leave a comment